http://www.cleanenergy.org/2013/07/30/take-action-stop-the-nuclear-tax-in-florida-3/

SACE | Southern Alliance for Clean Energy

Take ACTION, Stop the “nuclear tax” in Florida!

parts/content-body.any.php

 

actionalert

 

 

take action

donate

 


Take Action: Tell the FL Public Service Commission to protect consumers from costly nuclear projects!

Are you tired of paying in advance for proposed new nuclear reactors that are unlikely to ever be built? Tune in to the Florida Public Service Commission (PSC) hearings on nuclear cost recovery scheduled for August 5 – 9, 2013. The hearings for the cost recovery docket start at 9:30 am.

Voice your concerns! See the instructions below on how to submit comments.

Over the last several years, Florida Power and Light and Duke Energy Florida (which recently merged with Progress Energy) have been approved to collect well over $1 billion from their customers for new nuclear generation – including toward new reactors that the utilities have not even committed to building! So far the PSC has approved every penny requested through this bad, anti-consumer state law that was passed in 2006. Earlier this year, the law was changed to require the PSC to apply higher scrutiny to utility requests to pass on costs to customers. Now we’ll have to see if the PSC actually does its job. There are several ways you can participate.

Attend the hearings:*

Florida Public Service Commission [Map]

2540 Shumard Oak Blvd.

Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850

Room 148

View via webcast: http://www.psc.state.fl.us/agendas/audiovideo/index.aspx

Submit public comment:

Please reference Docket #130009 in all correspondence:

• Toll Free Consumer Assistance Line: 1-800-342-3552

• Toll Free Fax: 1-800-511-0809

Contact the PSC:

• General contact email address: contact@psc.state.fl.us

• Contact the Commissioners directly:

Chairman.Brise@psc.state.fl.us

Commissioner.Balbis@psc.state.fl.us

Commissioner.Edgar@psc.state.fl.us

Commissioner.Graham@psc.state.fl.us

Commissioner.Brown@psc.state.fl.us

• Or, you can use our link to contact them all.

For historical info, please visit our website. For docket information, visit the PSC website.

* Unfortunately, the FL PSC does not accept in-person public comment during the hearings.

 

facebookyoutubeflickr

www.cleanenergy.org

Click here to unsubscribe